Holidays and Festivals

The 2017 (5778) High Holidays Schedule is now available.Click here to download the schedule now.

  • S’lichot (Saturday, Sept. 16)
  • Erev Rosh Hashanah (Wednesday, Sept. 20)
  • Rosh Hashanah (Thursday, Sept. 21)
  • Shabbat Shuvah (Rosh Hashanah Day 2) (Friday, Sept. 22)
  • Community Memorial Service (Sunday, Sept. 24)
  • Erev Yom Kippur – Kol Nidre (Friday, Sept. 29)
  • Yom Kippur (Saturday, Sept. 30)
  • Build the Sukkah (Sunday, Oct. 1)  - no religious school
  • Erev Sukkot (Wednesday, Oct. 4)
  • Sukkot Yizkor (Wednesday, Oct. 11)
  • Simchat Torah Celebration (Wednesday, Oct. 11)
  • Consecration and Siddur Ceremony (Sunday, Oct. 15)

 

Jewish Family Service Support Groups. Coping with Chronic Illness, Bereavement, and Support for Caregivers of Individuals with a Dis ability. Click here for the flyer.

Second Seder Images

Want to stay up-to-date? 

Sign up for our weekly email message, Chadashot. We'll send you information about happenings at B'nai Israel, as well as around the Sacramento Jewish community. To sign up for Chadashot, contact our This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Jewish Holidays

*Tishah B'av: A Brief History

in Jewish Holidays
Tishah B'Av means "Ninth of Av" and refers to a Jewish day of fasting and mourning.Excerpted from The Jewish Home by Daniel B. Syme. URJ PressTraditionally Tishah B'Av is the darkest of all days, a time set aside for mourning the destruction of both ancient…

Calendar of Jewish Holidays

NOTE: Each holiday begins and ends at sundown on the days listed. Jewish…

Each holiday begins and ends at sundown on the days listed.

NOTE: Each holiday begins and ends at sundown on the days listed. JEWISH…